Reference Databases

RESEARCH DATABASES

NEW FEATURE:  Get the Gale "Access My Library®" Mobile App.
 
Pick a topic to get started 
Books & Authors   Business Careers & Education*
Consumer Reports* Genealogy* Journals & Magazines Legal Forms*
Language Learning* Newspapers Reference Books Travel & Country Info.*
[* = Made possible by a generous donation from the Walpole Public Library Endowment Trust -
 Walpole Library Cards only for these specific products ].


CLICK HERE FOR A COMPLETE DATABASE LISTING & LINKS

 
   
Books & Authors  
Books & Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun! By leveraging our entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation.
   
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
Business  
Business Insights: Essentials combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community. Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Consumer Reports  
Product ratings, reviews, in-depth advice, tips and trends written by Consumer Reports experts. Frequently updated articles, blogs and video content of the latest consumer news.
Careers & Education  
  Careers and Job Hunting Resources [follow image link]
Easily create position-specific resumes and custom cover letters. Select a job title enter you personal info. and then choose from expertly written letters specifically geared toward that profession.
   
Genealogy  
Library Membership and online access to New England Historic Genealogical Society
Due to licensing restrictions this product can only be accessed at the library. Please call for more info [508.660.7340]!
Ancestry.com [Library edition] is now available on the Walpole Library Public Internet terminals.  Ancestry Library Edition brings the world’s most popular consumer online genealogy resource to your library. It’s an unprecedented online collection of individuals from North America, the UK, Europe, Australia, and more.
Please Note:
HeritageQuest Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. It delivers an essential collection of genealogical and historical sources—with coverage dating back to the 1700s—that can help people find their ancestors and discover a place’s past.  [Available online to Walpole Library Card holders]
Journals & Magazines  
Search and access Magazines,  Biographical, Historical, Scientific and other Databases from home!
Language Learning  
Mango Languages’ PhD-created and linguist-approved software teaches real conversations in over 60 languages and makes it fun; no snoozefests here.
Features five languages in one program (Spanish, French, Italian, German, and English).
Legal Forms  
Welcome to Massachusetts Legal Forms Library.    Forms available include forms drafted by attorneys for a particular legal matter, forms from public records and participating companies and attorneys.
Newspapers  
Search and access The Boston Globe from home!
Search and access The New York Times from home!
Reference Books  
Access, Search, Download & Print from Full-Text Reference Books. Choose from the exclusive Walpole List or click on the  All eBooks link to use additional items in the system
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, suitable for all age levels
Travel & Country Info.  
Information for both travelers and student projects.   Covers 175 countries and 22 categories of interest.  Also includes maps and photographs.
Information for both travelers and student projects.   Covers all U.S. states and territories with 20+ main categories of interest.  Also includes maps and photographs.
In-depth travel information for 150 major world cities.
America the Beautiful - covers state-by-state history and current events for elementary-school and middle-school students
 

Access Link to a multitude of WALPOLE-ACCESSIBLE research databases
Gale Resources - Walpole Public Library

Learn a Language with Visual LinkĀ® Languages.
You can learn over 1,400 words for free here! Choose from Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, German, Chinese, Russian & English.  There are interactive audio/visual flash cards to help you learn a language.  Learn words in the language of your choice. You can also learn important phrases like greetings, survival expressions and slang words in the language of your choice. If you want verbs, there are over 350 verbs to learn in each language.

Ask the Reference Department a Question!